Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After seeing all of these great open-air markets, and Farmers Markets in France, I have been inspired to try to learn how to cook. Also, I have been looking at way to much Pinterest lately, and it’s making me very VERY hungry. Does anyone else have that problem? Really… I think it may be a problem. I’m like a junkie, looking for my next fix of gluten-free flour-less calorie-free magical brownies or some other gimmicky crap to pin. But the thing is I never even make anything I “pin.” Also, there are a few other minor problems;

  1. I don’t really know how to cook
  2. I don’t have the right kitchen tools to make much of anything (We moved to France with only our suitcases full of clothes, so we are s l o w l y accumulating household items)
  3. It’s a long process for me to convert measurements and ingredients from French to English. Or maybe I am too lazy to do it.

I realize these are all excuses and its about time I just go for it. Unfortunately, the Farmers Market is not open on Mondays (great timing on my part :() so I had to go to the Monoprix to get my produce. But it worked out since I needed to get a baking dish as well. Here are some things I picked up:

I decided to make Pasta-free Veggie Lasagna. (Pinterest would LOVE it!!) Now, I don’t have anything against Pasta, I love it in fact. I just decided to make this “fancy” per my Pinterest addiction. On a side note, Lasagna was one of my favorite things as a kid, along with Mac-n-cheese. They were both my choice Birthday meals. 🙂

So, if you are like me, and you prefer to just wing it (could be why I have not been that successful with my cooking) this will be the perfect recipe for you. So here is what I did…

BREE’S PASTA-FREE VEGETABLE LASAGNA

I poured some sort of amount, of some kind of pasta sauce in the baking dish. Now this step is very important, I would know I am a chef now. If you don’t put the sauce first it will throw off the whole dish and I bet the veggies would burn.

Then I sliced some veggies into thin pieces so I could layer them… it goes a little something like this;

1/2 an Eggplant

1/3 a Cauliflower (Thank you spell-check… I had no idea **sheepish grin**)

1 diced Onion

3 Mushrooms

1/2 of some kind of French squash thing

2 chopped cloves of Garlic

1/2 of some size container of Ricotta Cheese (Wow… cheeses are cheap here compared to the US!)

1 of those balls of Mozzarella that I couldn’t really cut so I just squished into flat little pieces

Just layer all that stuff, feel free to add more cheese. In my opinion, the more cheese the better and this goes for everything in life.

Wow…. Look at that! All those layers.

Please don’t be like me and dump an assload of pepper on your lasagna. I know I am a renowned chef now, but still, just don’t do it.

Preheat your oven to a really hot temperature. I did 220, whatever that is in France. Make sure to cover your lasagna with tin foil or you will have a big ol’ mess to clean up. Then bake for a while. I did 1 hour 15 minutes, I don’t think that was enough. But we were so hungry and it was already 9:00pm so we decided to pull the plug so to speak. In fact, we were so hungry that I completely forgot to take a photo of the finished product. But you are not really missing much. I did manage to snap a few of the leftovers once my blood sugar was back to normal.

All in all this was a EXCELLENT attempt at what turned out to be a mediocre lasagna at best. Bon Appétit!

Stay tuned for more mediocre recipes For People That Don’t Know How to Cook by Bree Hawkins

