Tags

, , ,

Jack and I decided to go for a long walk today to see just how big that Grand Canal is. I’ve read that the Canal is 5.5 km around the rim, which is about 3.42 miles. Including the walk from our apartment I think we walked about 7 miles this morning. There were just a handful of people out, as it was a bit chilly this morning. Jack was being a very good dog and I was even able to let him off the leash for quite a while. He enjoyed some crazy running through the grass, then he mellowed out enough for us to continue walking. From there on he just kept a constant 15 feet between us, I’m guessing so I couldn’t sneak up on him and put him back on his leash. However, he was really good about coming back to me when I told him to.

Anyway, I really liked the topiary’s mixed in with the large trees. Everything is so green and lush here. I am used to living in the desert and seeing nothing but brown dirt, sand, concrete and cactus. This is a nice change from that!

It reminds me of Alice in Wonderland.

There is a Restaurant in the park that I want to try one of these days. It has seating right along the waters edge. Probably kind of a touristy spot, but nonetheless it looks like it would be fun to go in the warmer summer months. Or now I suppose…

There were lots of boats in the water and what looked liked some competitive rowers as well.

We also caught a glimpse of the Grand Trianon. In 1687 Jules Hardouin Mansart built the Grand Trianon, probably the most refined group of buildings anywhere in the domain of Versailles, on the site of the “Porcelain Trianon”, which Louis XIV had had erected in 1670 to escape the pomp and rigid formality of court life with his mistress Madame de Montespan.

Grand Trianon

After the long walk we were so tired we decided to come back to the apartment and relax… well that’s what Jack did.

As for me, I decided to finally start this blog. I have been thinking about starting one for years, so its about time. I am still learning how to use WordPress so hopefully from here on out it won’t take me 3 hours for one post.

